ICT – Key Stage 5

BTEC Applied ICT Level 3

The BTEC Level 3 National Subsidiary Diploma is a vocational qualification that requires students to study a wide range of technology, computing and communication techniques. It is equivalent to an A level in UCAS points.


Mandatory Units:

  1. Communication and employability skills for IT.  This unit is designed to improve general communication skills by exploiting certain application packages and IT tools. There are 8 coursework tasks that are assessed.
  2. Computer Systems. A computer system comprises of both hardware and software components. This unit looks at operating systems and a whole range of hardware and software and includes basic maintenance skills. There are 8 coursework tasks that are assessed.

Optional Units require students to deliver a range of coursework that requires both practical skills and producing some lengthy written reports. Units offered include:

  • Organisational systems and security
  • IT systems trouble shooting and repair
  • Communication technologies
  • Developing computer games
  • Website production
  • Computer animation
  • Spreadsheet modelling

The First Year (equivalent to an AS level)  will comprise of Unit 1 Communication and employability skills for IT, Unit 2 Computer Systems and Unit 22 Developing Computer Games

The second year of study will require students to study a further three units that will be selected based on students’ strengths and preferences.

Useful equipment / resources

BTEC Level 3 Information Technology for edexcel Books 1 and 2 and by Karen Anderson, Alan Jarvis, Allen Kaye, Jenny Lawson, Richard McGill, Jenny Philips and Andrew Smith. Published by Pearson.